Coronavirus Cases:





History of new cases over the past 30 days

History of deaths in the past 30 days

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, or commonly known as the United Kingdom or simply Britain, is a country located in the extreme northwestern part of Europe, spread across the island of Great Britain and the northeastern part of the island of Ireland, where North Ireland is located. It also consists of many other smaller islands. It has no other land neighbors besides Ireland. It’s surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, the North Sea, the English Channel, and the Celtic Sea, making the UK the country with the 12th longest coastline in the world. The official language is English and the capital (and also the largest city) is London.

Historically, the Kingdom of England conquered and annexed Wales. After that, the Kingdom of England joined forces with Scotland, forming the Kingdom of Great Britain. In 1801, the Kingdom of Great Britain joined with the Kingdom of Ireland, forming the Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland. In 1922, most of Ireland separated from the Kingdom, leaving Northern Ireland in the current United Kingdom.

The United Kingdom is the sixth economy in the world and it was a member of the European Union for 47 years before its withdrawal on 31 January 2020, popularly known as the Brexit. The UK is a unitary state under a constitutional monarchy. Although Queen Elizabeth II is the current monarch, the real leader of the United Kingdom is its Prime Minister. Apart from being the UK monarch, the Queen is also the monarch of fifteen other independent countries, often called Commonwealth realms. An interesting thing about the UK is that is doesn’t distinguish between regular statutes and constitutional law. No law can be made to last forever and it can be turned down by the next Parliament.

Indication of source: